NAACP Chairperson speaks at UNT as part of the Distinguished Lecture Series

NAACP Chairperson speaks at UNT as part of the Distinguished Lecture Series

April 14
09:05 2014

Brittany Armstrong // Intern Writer

The Distinguished Lecture Series Committee at UNT is hosting Roslyn Brock, the Chairperson of the National Board of Directors for the NAACP, at 6:30 p.m. on April 15 in the Coliseum.

Brock will also conduct an informal discussion with selected students in the Gateway Center from 4:30 to 5:15 p.m.

Brock made history in 2010 when she was unanimously elected as the 14th chairperson of the NAACP. The 48-year-old is the youngest person to hold the position and the fourth woman.

“We are thrilled to be hosting the youngest ever NAACP Chairperson,” Student Affairs Coordinator of Special Events Michelle Bradley said.

Brock has been a leader for the NAACP for more than 27 years. She joined the association as a freshman at Virginia Union University. She is also the Vice President of Advocacy and Government Relations for Bon Secour Health Systems in Marriottsville, Maryland.

Brock has previously been employed in health programs at the W.K. Kellogg Foundation – one of the largest philanthropic foundations in the U.S. – that supports children by working to advance them to their full potential in school and life.

The title of Brock’s lecture at UNT is “Courage for Equality and Change”. Student Affairs graduate assistant Nancy Kidder said they are expecting students to feel empowered by what Brock has to say.

“We’re hoping that what Roslyn has to say will really help change the way they think,” she said. “Or expand their knowledge base and give them that call to action to want to help their community.”

Brock was chosen by the Distinguished Lecture Series Committee because of her achievements and diversity. The committee chooses about two to four speakers to come to UNT each year.

Previous speakers include Condoleezza Rice, George W. Bush, John Legend and others.

Their goal is to bring interesting and diverse speakers who align with the educational mission of UNT. The committee is made up of five appointed members of the UNT faculty and staff, and seven students.

Previous speakers include Condoleezza Rice, George W. Bush, John Legend and others.

The Center for Student Affairs is expecting about 200 people to attend the event, which will be open to students, alumni and the public. It is free for students to attend, $5 for guests of student, $8 for alumni and $15 for  the general public. Tickets can be purchased at the door or online at

About Author



Related Articles


No Comments Yet!

There are no comments at the moment, do you want to add one?

Write a comment

Write a Comment

Search Bar

Sidebar Top Ad Banner

Latest Issue of North Texas Daily

Social Media

Sidebar Top Block Ad

The Chestnut Tree Bistro

Flytedesk Ad

Sidebar Thumbnails Ad

Twitter Feed

North Texas Daily @ntdaily
RT @EmilyOlkkola: Percy may be stupid, but the one smart thing he does is support student media, like the @ntdaily!! Today, I’m so proud to…
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
The Dose: We know the snuggle is real during the winter break, so here is a list of things that you can do to save…
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
The campus-wide examination occurs each semester in coordination with other university efforts to record and addres…
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
After learning about ties between Marksmen coach Jason Van Dyke and extremist group The Proud Boys, the UNT firearm…
h J R

Sidebar Bottom Block Ad