North Texas Daily

Texas primary election 2018: O’Rourke to face Cruz in midterms, Democratic gubernatorial race headed to runoff

Texas primary election 2018: O’Rourke to face Cruz in midterms, Democratic gubernatorial race headed to runoff

March 07
10:24 2018

Texas held the first of the nation’s 2018 primary elections on Tuesday. The Democratic gubernatorial primary election resulted in a runoff between former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez and Houston businessman Andrew White.

“Let’s bring sanity and reasoning back to our state government,” White said at a post-election address. “Let’s do right and risk the consequences.”

Cruz to face O’Rourke for US Senate seat

Beto O’Rourke won the Democratic primary for U.S. Senator and will be pitted against incumbent Ted Cruz in November.

The Cruz campaign released a radio ad shortly after O’Rourke won, which featured a country song with lyrics saying, “If you are going to run in Texas, you can’t be a liberal man.”

O’Rourke spoke about Texas voters in a video on his Facebook page as election results began coming in.

“[The voters] are making something truly historic and wonderful happen in Texas and for this country,” O’Rourke said. “I can’t be more proud than I am right now to be a Texan.”  

Republican incumbents win, Democrats head to runoff for Texas HD-64 

Locally, incumbents Michael Burgess and Lynn Stucky won their Republican primary races for Congressional District TX-26 and Texas House District 64. Burgess will face Linsey Fagan while Stucky will face the winner of a runoff election between Democrats Andrew Morris and Mat Pruneda in the November general election.

Fagan overcame Will Fisher in a competitive race, winning by a little over 50 percent of the vote.  

“While people were dragging me through the mud, you guys got drug through the mud with

me,” Fagan said during her election watch party. “You just kept going and we just kept focusing on winning and loving each other. That’s what all representatives should do.”

Fisher congratulated Fagan with a phone call before responding to election results on Facebook.

“It was a hard fought win in which the turnout in TX-26 among Democrats far exceeded prior elections,” He said in the post. “I encourage all of my supporters to stay engaged in this fight for representative democracy. This country is too important to let Trump lackies like Michael Burgess run it into the ground.”

Incumbents Abbott, Patrick win Republican primaries for Gubernatorial races

Current Governor Greg Abbott won his primary election with over 85 percent of the vote. Current Lt. Governor Dan Patrick beat his primary challenger, Scott Milder, with over 70 percent of the vote.

Patrick will face Democratic opponent Mark Collier while Abbott will face the winner of the May 22 runoff election in the November general election.

George P. Bush, incumbent Texas Land Commissioner and son of former Republican presidential candidate Jeb Bush, won his primary race with over 50 percent of the vote. He beat out three other challengers, one of whom was Jerry Patterson, who occupied the office between 2003 and 2015.

Local Races

Democrat Diana Leggett will be running against former county commissioner Andy Eads in the general election for Denton County judge. Eads ran unopposed and Leggett beat long-time Denton activist Willie Hudspeth by over 70 percent.

Republican Paul Johnson will serve another four years as the Denton County district attorney after beating his opponent, local defense attorney Brent Bowen, by over 60 percent.

The Denton County Democratic Chair went to Angie Cadena who unseated current chair Phyllis Wolper with over 70 percent of the vote.

“It was a team effort,” Cadena said during Fagan’s election watch party at The Local 109. “It was a lot of people working together and that is how we do it going forward.”

Realtor Jayne Howell beat current Denton County Republican Party Chair John Dillard, with a little over 50 percent of the vote.

The runoff election for Democratic gubernatorial and TX HD-64 candidates will be held on May 22 with the general election on November 6.

To see the full list of 2018 Texas primary election results, click here.

Featured Image: Texas District 64 House Democratic candidate Andrew Morris speaks to a crowd at Local 109 on Tuesday. Sara Carpenter

About Author

Devin Rardin

Devin Rardin

Lizzy Spangler

Lizzy Spangler

Related Articles

1 Comment

  1. Neil Nevins
    Neil Nevins March 07, 12:00

    it’s unfathomable how much of a complete idiot Ted Cruz is

    Reply to this comment

Write a Comment

The Roundup

<script id="mcjs">!function(c,h,i,m,p){m=c.createElement(h),p=c.getElementsByTagName(h)[0],m.async=1,m.src=i,p.parentNode.insertBefore(m,p)}(document,"script","");</script>

Search Bar

Sidebar Thumbnails Ad

Twitter Feed

North Texas Daily @ntdaily
Happy Thursday! In this week's issue, read about Proposition B enforcement, football's championship matchup with UTSA, a local band's debut single and more.🗞️💻 Pick up a copy and stay tuned for online coverage.
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
BREAKING: Wren Baker resigns, takes athletic director role at West Virginia📝: @Reed_Smith25Read more:
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
NEWS: UNT, NASA, local partners push the future of air travel forward📝: @sidjpearceRead more:
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
NEWS: University professor discovers bacteria's new role in reducing greenhouse gases📝: @FernaJustooRead more:
h J R
North Texas Daily @ntdaily
@JohnAndersontx: I am incredibly happy to announce I will be serving as the Spring 2023 Editor-In-Chief of the North Texas Daily! I’ve loved my eight semesters at the Daily and am honored to continue serving alongside such great journalists. @ntdaily
h J R

Sidebar Bottom Block Ad

Flytedesk Ad